2020 International One Metre Australian Championship

Welcome to the 2020 International One Metre Class Australian Championship

The 2020 Australian Championship will be hosted by the Victorian Radio Yachting Association with the support of the Yarrawonga Yacht Club over 22-25 July, 2020.

Yarrawonga, located 281 km north-east of Melbourne lies on the border between Victoria and New South Wales at the south-western corner of Lake Mulwala where the lake passes through the Yarrawonga Weir and flows into the Murray River. Mulwala, which is located in New South Wales, spreads along the western shore of the lake. The two towns are linked by a bridge over the mouth of the lake. Being close to a substantial lake, and famed for the fact that it gets more sunshine than Brisbane, the twin towns are now essentially a holiday resort and retirement centre. 

Yarrawonga was the name given to a local pastoral station in 1842. The term is probably a Yorta Yorta Aboriginal word meaning either "place where the wonga pigeon rested" or "water running over rocks".

International One Metre Class

The International One Metre (IOM) is one of the most popular RC racing yacht in the world and is raced in over 30 countries. The class was created in 1988 by Jan Dejmo aided by Graham Bantock and the Technical Committee of the IMYRU (predecessor of IRSA).  It has continued to grow steadily since its creation.

In Australia, fleets in excess of 30 boats regularly compete in state/regional championships with the 2019 Australian Championship attracting over 70 entries.